Car champions lined up for Goodwood Festival of Speed

Andy Rouse SUS-140205-123835001
Andy Rouse SUS-140205-123835001

TWO more British Touring Car Champions, Andy Rouse and John Fitzpatrick have confirmed their attendance at this year’s Goodwood Festival of Speed.

Rouse ‘perfectly embodies’ the Festival of Speed’s 2014 theme: ‘Addicted to Winning’.

His four BTCC crowns, achieved between 1975 and 1985, has never been equalled.

He will be reunited with the ICS-liveried Rover SD1 – now owned by established historic racer Nigel Garrett - in which he won the third of his BTCC titles and will drive it up Goodwood’s famous 1.16-mile Hillclimb during the weekend, having not set foot in it since taking the crown in 1984.

Fitzpatrick, who remains the youngest driver to have won the BTCC title following his 1966 crown at the age of 23 in a Ford Anglia, focused his attentions on high-powered sportscar and GT racing in the 1970s and won the USA’s most prestigious events, the Daytona 24 Hours and Sebring 12 Hours, in BMW and Porsche machinery respectively.

He added nine race wins in the World Sportscar Championship, a pair of Porsche Cups and also won Australia’s most prestigious touring car race, the Bathurst 1000, in 1976 with Bob Morris.

He will tackle the Goodwood Hillclimb in a Mauro Borella-owned, Miller-liveried Porsche 935 ‘JLP-4’ that was taken to several victories in the US-based IMSA series by John Paul Jr and plans to raise awareness and money for Paul’s foundation, John Paul Jr vs Huntingdon’s Disease.

Rouse and Fitzpatrick join an ever-growing line-up of current legendary drivers and riders and legends of motor sport on two wheels and four. Among those already confirmed for the Festival of Speed are ex-Formula 1 world champions Emerson Fittipaldi and John Surtees,

NASCAR ‘king’ Richard Petty, rallying’s most successful driver, Sebastien Loeb and grand prix motorcycle champions Giacomo Agostini and Freddie Spencer.