Pompey given opening Grecians trip

11
Have your say

Pompey’s season will kick off with a trip to Exeter.

Andy Awford’s side have been matched with the Grecians for the opening day of the League Two campaign on August 9.

Nicky Shorey and Pompey will head to Exeter on the opening day of the season. Picture: Joe Pepler

Nicky Shorey and Pompey will head to Exeter on the opening day of the season. Picture: Joe Pepler

That will be followed by a midweek home clash with Peterborough in the Capital One Cup, a draw which was made yesterday.

Then the Blues have consecutive Fratton Park matches in the league against Cambridge United (August 16) and Northampton (Tuesday, August 19).

Completing the August line up is a visit to Oxford (August 23) and a home match with Newport County (August 30).

The festive period has been kind to the Fratton faithful with the Boxing Day visit of AFC Wimbledon and a trip to Luton (Sunday, December 28).

There is no New Year’s Day fixture, however. Instead they will host Tranmere on January 3, also an FA Cup third round date.

The season finishes with a home match against York on May 2, while the last away game is Mansfield on April 25.

Saturday, August 9 Exeter City (A)

Wednesday, August 13 Peterborough (Capital One Cup, first round) (H)

Saturday, August 16 Cambridge United (H)

Tuesday, August 19 Northampton Town (H)

Saturday, August 23 Oxford United (A)

Wednesday, August 27 Capital One Cup, second round

Saturday, August 30 Newport County (H)

Saturday, September 6 Burton Albion (A)

Saturday, September 13 Southend United (A)

Tuesday, September 16 Dagenham & Redbridge (H)

Saturday, September 20 Wycombe Wanderers (H)

Saturday, September 27 Hartlepool United (A)

Saturday, October 4 York City (A)

Saturday, October 11 Mansfield Town (H)

Saturday, October 18 Bury (A)

Tuesday, October 21 Stevenage (H)

Saturday, October 25 Shrewsbury Town (A)

Saturday, November 1 Carlisle United (H)

Saturday, November 8 FA Cup, first round

Saturday, November 15 Plymouth Argyle (A)

Saturday, November 22 Morecambe (H)

Saturday, November 29 Tranmere Rovers (A)

Saturday, December 6 FA Cup, second round

Saturday, December 13 Accrington Stanley (H)

Saturday, December 20 Cheltenham Town (A)

Friday, December 26 AFC Wimbledon (H)

Sunday, December 28 Luton Town (A)

Saturday, January 3 Tranmere Rovers (H)

Saturday, January 10 Newport County (A)

Saturday, January 17 Burton Albion (H)

Saturday, January 24 Southend United (H)

Saturday, January 31 Wycombe Wanderers (A)

Saturday, February 7 Hartlepool United (H)

Tuesday, February 10 Dagenham & Redbridge (A)

Saturday, February 14 Exeter City (H)

Saturday, February 21 Cambridge United (A)

Saturday, February 28 Oxford United (H)

Tuesday, March 3 Northampton Town (A)

Saturday, March 7 Accrington Stanley (A)

Saturday, March 14 Luton Town (H)

Tuesday, March 17 Cheltenham Town (H)

Saturday, March 21 AFC Wimbledon (A)

Saturday, March 28 Shrewsbury Town (H)

Saturday, April 4 Carlisle United (A)

Monday, April 6 Plymouth Argyle (H)

Saturday, April 11 Morecambe (A)

Tuesday, April 14 Stevenage (A)

Saturday, April 18 Bury (H)

Saturday, April 25 Mansfield Town (A )

Saturday, May 2 York City (H )