Goodwood’s racing programme for 2012 is revealed

0
Have your say

Goodwood have announced their schedule of meetings for 2012 - and it includes two newly-grouped-together runs of three days of racing.

There have been a few changes to next year’s schedule because their normal September weekend - whiche fell on 10 and 11 this season - falling a week later and clashing with Goodwood Revival.

Managing director Adam Waterworth has worked hard to obtain the right replacements for the September weekend to improve the structure of the Goodwood season.

Goodwood will now host racing on Friday, May 25 and a meeting previously on a Wednesday in May has now moved to Thursday 24, which with the traditional May Saturday creates three days of back-to-back high quality racing that will include the four Listed races - the Cocked Hat, Height of Fashion, Festival Stakes and Tapster Stakes and total prize money over the three days of £300,000.

This is a return to the May festival meeting that was last run a number of years ago.

The course has also gained Friday, August 24, which will be an evening meeting replacing the Thursday evening meeting in August, and will lead nicely on to Saturday 25 and Sunday 26 August to create another three days of back-to-back racing.

The Saturday will continue to host the Group 2 Betfair Celebration Mile and will offer £412,000 in prize money.

Waterworth said: “Over the last few weeks we have worked hard with the BHA and they have supported us in obtaining these new fixtures. These are currently for 2012 only and we will have to wait to see whether these stay for the future, but to create four feature meetings through the season in May, June, July and August gives our season a real focus.

“Planning is now well underway for the season ahead and we cannot wait to get started and back racing in May.

“The team have worked hard over 2011 and delivered another great season and 2012 can only build on this.”

The full list of fixtures:

Saturday May 5

Thursday May 10

Thursday May 24

Friday May 25

Saturday May 26

Friday (E) June 8

Friday (E) June 15

Friday (E) June 22

Tuesday July 31

Wednesday August 1

Thursday August 2

Friday August 3

Saturday August 4

Friday (E) August 24

Saturday August 25

Sunday August 26

Tuesday September 4

Wednesday September 26

Sunday October 14