Bowls: Outdoor season is off to a sunny start in West Sussex

Members of Chichester Bowls Club get the 2013 season started with help from the mayor, Ann Scicluna  Picture by
Members of Chichester Bowls Club get the 2013 season started with help from the mayor, Ann Scicluna Picture by

The outdoor bowls season began under sunny skies - while the dishing-out of silverware around the indoor clubs is in full swing.

Get involved in the Observer’s coverage by sending reports, results and pictures to


In glorious sunshine, Middleton had a near full house on Saturday for their opening drive, which marked the start of their 70th anniversary celebrations.

Originally just a three-rink green when the first match was played in May 1943 against a team from Pagham, the present full green was officially opened in 1981.

A programme of special events is scheduled for the season beginning with a match on May 17 against a presidents’ team from Sussex County Bowls, the umbrella organisation for 112 affiliated clubs. Spectators will be welcome.

Also to mark the anniversary, new members are being offered discounted first-year fees, with free coaching for beginners. To take advantage of this offer, contact Joan Gower, ladies captain, on 01243 849025 or John Graham, men’s captain, on 01243 262875.

Membership of the bowls club includes social membership of Middleton Sports Club. To find out more visit


Spring finally arrived as Chichester Bowling Club opened their season with the Mayor of Chichester, Cllr Anne Scicluna, bowling the first bowl.

This was followed by the annual president-v-captain game, and in an evenly-matched contest the president’s team finished with a five-shot advantage.

Scores: (President’s names first) - Guy Buckle, Peter Merritt, Stephen Goddard, Dave Schofield (skip) lost 16-13 to George Beagley, Jeff Pickard, Tony Sayers, Wendy Adams (skip); John Walters, Peter Doust, Clive Keedwell, Derek Leach (skip) drew 13-13 with Cole Porter, John Swannell, Bridgit Collins, Simon Tooley (skip); Les Shipp, Bernard Hole, Stuart Meyer, Mike Bayfield (skip) drew 16-16 with Richard Smith, Innes Taylor, Michael Hannant, Brian Butler (skip); Mervyn Jones, Trevor Jennings, Alan Stewart, Tony Hardgrove (skip) beat Lynn Jones, Peter Howick, Chris Wade, Brian Talmage (skip) 21-7; D Hogg, Penny Hannant, Jean Hole, Bernard Money (skip) lost 18-12 to Alan Deller, Maggie Maggs, John White, Peter White (skip).


The club’s open day was well attended and blessed by lovely weather. Frank Bray, the club’s president, began proceedings with a speech and potential new members tried their hand at bowling.

There were various activities and stalls including target bowls, a plant sale and a prize raffle.

The club thanked all those who helped and attended the event.

In the afternoon, club members enjoyed their first roll-up of the season.

Anyone interested in bowling at the club who was unable to come along on the day can contact club secretary Chris Horsley on 01243 671968.


Southbourne v Polar Bears (winter bowlers)

For their opening match of the summer season, Southbourne played an enjoyable friendly against the winter bowlers, the Polar Bears, who during the winter come from several local clubs to use Southbourne’s all-weather green.

This year Southbourne managed wins on two of the triples and one rink, with the Polar Bears winning on the other triple.

Scores: Colin Bulbeck, Alan Shelley, Margaret Odell (s) lost 14-8; Joan Frost, Irene Jennings, Dave Young (s) won 14-11;

Malcolm Keane, Kathy Shelley, Ted Dewing (s) won 24-12; Daniel Hibberd, Jim Jennings, John Staker, Peter Garrard (s) won 29-5.


Aldingbourne 128 Norfolk 94

Aldingbourne welcomed Norfolk in their first friendly match of the season. An afternoon of rare sunshine produced an enjoyable game of bowls.

Scores; E Taylor, J Carpenter, G Arnold, F Mulholland won 34-12; A Howson,J S Smith, R Macer, F Taylor won 28-8; N Boxall, W Tribe, M Taylor, L Hathaway lost 23-16; T Tappenden, H Gear, D Page, M Richards lost 19-10; D Cote, D Tappenden, D Meakins, J Whetstone won 22-18; H Norford, B Cunningham, A Stiles, R Wyatt won 17-14.


East Preston invited Arundel to play them to commemorate their 90th anniversary. A lovely afternoon of bowls was played in great spirit.

Scores: J Crome 7 J Rose 34; J Morris 15 G Reygate 32; I Morris 14 J Porter 19; J Pigeon 15 A Olliver 17; J Holt 29 G Mills 14; G Robinson 14 B Heal 15; P Lloyd 15 J Lee 19.


Donnington held their annual meeting and presentation of trophies for competitions held during the season.

Outgoing captain John Roberts presented the following trophies:

Jubilee Cup - Terry Taws (runner-up Rob Stone); Drawn pairs - Trevor Wilson & Wendy Dean (runners-up Joan Jones & Dave Turner); Invitation pairs - Ron & Marjorie Beasley (runners-up Joan Jones & Vic Mitchell); Ladies singles - Maggie Maggs (runner-up Joan Jones); Men’s singles - Allan Banham (runner-up Trevor Wilson); Captain’s Shield - Allan Banham, Rob Stone & Vic Mitchell; Chairman’s Trophy - Jenny Gibson, George Beagley & Ron Beasley.

Pictured are all trophy winners except Jenny Gibson, who was unable to attend.

Members can continue bowling throughout the summer at Donnington on Monday and Wednesday evenings.


Nyetimber SMBC held their annual meeting to elect officers for 2013-14.

Appointments: Club chairman - A Guppy; club captain - P Watters; secretary - M Hatch; treasurer - G Booker, match secretary - C Foot; competition secretary - E Morgan; vice-captains - B Crew (Gold); A Foot (Green).

Nyetimber Golds played their final league match against Lavant and picked up two points with a 33-31 win, ending in second place in their league after a very good season. They lost the friendly 24-18.

Scores: Lynton Griffiths, Jean Leake, Barbara Crew & Irene Hathaway (skip) beat Peter Lee, Sheila Lilywhite, Keith Fancy & Stuart Meyer 19-12; Alan Crew, Pat Mussell, Tpny Mussell, George Booker (skip) lost 19-14 to Claire Beardmore, John Powell, Barbara Andrew & Tony Bleach (skip); (friendly): Catherine Plummer, David Harding, Carol Sands & Nigel Plummer lost 24-18.


Lavant SMBC held their annual Invitation Fours tournament - four months late after flooding at Lavant Hall put paid to the original date.

Nine teams from around the county and over the border competed and with one round of games remaining the teams from Lavant, Clapham and Patching, Horham Hares and Midhurst Eagles were all on six points - but Portsdown from Hampshire were leading with eight points and needed to win their last game to take the trophy.

They duly accomplished this and won the day with a total of ten points. The home team from Lavant were runners up with 8 points.

At the end of a day enjoyed by all, £250 was donated to Lavant Hall funds.