Last chance to vote for the Observer community awards

Previous Observer Community award winners.  Photo by Louise Adams  C121773-26
Previous Observer Community award winners. Photo by Louise Adams C121773-26

THERE are just a few days left to show your support for YOUR community heroes – so get voting!

Last month we profiled our 2013 Community Awards nominees in a special supplement.

So now it is over to YOU to choose the winners.

You can vote by post using the coupon printed in the paper or by text using the four-digit code by the candidates’ names.

To vote by text, simply send a text message starting with cco community, the four-digit voting number of who you are voting for plus your name, house number (or house name) and postcode to 61500.

The total message must not exceed 155 characters. All text messages cost £1 plus standard network charge.

The closing date for votes is midnight on Monday, November 11, 2013. Votes received after the closing date will not be counted but may still be charged.

Example of message: cco community 1003 john smith 1 ab1 23cd

“This is one of my favourite events of the year,” said Observer editor Colin Channon.

“Since we launched the awards in 2008, every single ceremony has been a fantastic night and a true celebration of the amazing people we have living and working in our area.

“Our nominees this year have been put forward for a host of different reasons – fundraising, bravery, commitment – but each and every one of them is a credit to the community they live in.”

The Observer Community Award ceremony, which is completely free of charge, will be held at Butlin’s, Bognor Regis, on December 12.

Anyone can come along if they call 01243 534124.

All nominees, and those who nominated them, are welcome to attend for a celebratory evening with television star Fred Dinenage.

“There’s not long to vote, so don’t miss your opportunity to make sure your community stars are shining brightly on the night,” said Colin.

“We can’t wait to see you all there for another wonderful evening.”

Here is a list of all our amazing nominees:

Mini Hero

1001 Ryan Lamprell

1002 Sarah Corsini

1003 Daniel Nagle

1004 Finnan Campbell

1005 Danny Herbert

Best School

2001 Portfield Primary Academy

2002 Bishop Luffa

2003 Midhurst Rother College

2004 The Regis School

School Star

3001 Justine Green

3002 Tan Fisher

3003 Rose Simmons

Best Community Person

4001 Emily Finn

4002 Stephen Johnson

4003 Ruth Valerio

4004 Debbie Marsh

4005 Carolyn Sweeney

4006 Wendy Morris

4007 Robert Carey

Super Senior

5001 Richard Beckett

5002 Roy Webb

5003 Marjorie ‘Marje’ Bishop

5004 Tommy Thompson

Voice of the Community

6001 Ian ‘Fergie’ Fergusson

6002 Geoff Hand

6003 Leave Oving Lights Alone (LOLA) group

6004 Frack Free Fernhurst

Special Recognition

7001 Martin Cooke

7002 John White

7003 Tony Reed

7004 Debbie Marsh

7005 Phil Packer

Best Charity/Vountary Group

8001 Chichester Area Mind

8002 Eco-congregation at St Paul’s Church

8003 Tillington Local Care

8004 Rotary Club of Bognor Regis

8005 CAPITAL Project Trust

8006 City Angels

Best Coach

9001 Alan Prior

9002 Candi Gilroy

9003 Hailey Hodd

9004 Jake Curran

9005 Steven Rishman (Snowy)

Outstanding Bravery

1101 Charlie Oldfield and Dillon Tillyard

1102 Andrew Stemp

1103 Chloe Humphrey

1104 Bethany Chiddle

Best Volunteer

1201 Lara Collis

1202 Debbie Marsh

1203 Mike Collins

1204 Rich Sherwell

Biggest Contribution to the Arts

1301 Neil Lawson-Baker

1302 Roger Redfarn

1303 The Regis Centre

1304 Peter Breskal

1305 Festival of Chichester

Best Community Event

1401 1st South Bersted Cub Scouts’ Green Footprint Day

1402 International Bognor Birdman

1403 MADhurst

1404 ROX Music and Arts Festival

1405 Selsey Lifeboat Week

Hero to Animals

1501 Richard Edwards

1502 Brent Lodge Bird and Wildlife Trust

1503 Irene Clarke

1504 Friends of Maybush Copse

1505 Theresa Bates

Sports Team of the Year

1601 Chichester Rugby Club first XV

1602 West Wittering Cricket Club first XI

1603 Chichester Rugby Club Under 11s

1604 Bognor Regis Town FC (the Rocks)

1605 Dragonflyers

Best Sportsperson

1701 Jamie Cole

1702 Brian Towner

1703 James Baker

1704 Mary Campbell

1705 Sean Heather

By supplying your telephone number you are happy to receive SMS/MMS messages from Johnston Press and its approved business partners.

Johnston Press (or via its agents) and its business partners may contact you about new promotions, products and services.

Please add the word EXIT at the end of your message if you do not wish to receive these.

For quality and training purposes we may monitor communications.

Service Provider: Velti DR Ltd SE1 8ND – 020 7633 5000. Ref: CCO1343VRAA.