Candidates change allegiance in 2011 Chichester District council elections

FOR anyone who has not yet decided who they are going to vote for in tomorrow’s (Thursday, May 5) elections here is a quick reminder of some of the candidates.

Nominations for the elections were formally closed on Monday and polling day will take place on Thursday, May 5.

People in the centre of Chichester will also be voting in the city council elections.

Currently, the make-up of the district council consists of 34 Conservative seats, 11 Liberal Democrat seats and three independent seats.

Despite their best efforts some areas have experienced a shortage of candidates. In Chichester East ward for example there are three seats and only four candidates while in East Wittering there are two seats and only three candidates.

The Chichester East and Southbourne wards, where three seats are up for grabs, nominations are a little healthier, with a total of eight nominations each.

Notable changes include in Tangmere ward, where sitting councillor Chris Punnett who is a Liberal Democrat will no longer stand.

Candidates Roland O’Brien and Fred Robertson who already represent Selsey South ward as independents will this time be standing as Conservative candidates

In Funtington Julie Tassell is the only candidate and will be returned unopposed while Chichester Society chairman Tony Dignum will be standing in the Chichester North Ward.

Another notable change is in Chichester East, where current Liberal Democrat councillor Susan Fairley will this time stand for the Boxgrove seat, as an independent.

Liberal Democrat Chichester city councillor and current mayor Michael Woolley, will be standing for the Chichester East ward.

For details see