West Sussex elections: List of candidates

West Sussex County Council's membership is being increased from 70 to 71 this year — and every seat will be contested in the elections on Thursday, June 4.

When the deadline for nominations arrived at midday on Thursday, a total of 284 candidates were lined up for the battle.

The make-up of the current 70-seat county council is: Conservative 47, Liberal Democrat 16, Labour seven.

The increase in membership follows changes to some boundaries approved by the Boundary Commission. It means there will be a single councillor representing each electoral division.

A breakdown of candidates shows the Conservatives are contesting all 71 seats, with the Liberal Democrats and Labour both challenging 68.

The United Kingdom Independence Party will contest 34, the British National Party 20, Green Party 14, English Democrats four, Justice one, and Peace one. There are three Independent candidates.

In the Chichester East division, two former council leaders are among the candidates.

Conservative Norman Dingemans is a senior member and former leader of Arun District Council and Liberal Democrat Andrew Smith, who currently represents the division, is a former leader of Chichester District Council, on which he is now leader of the Liberal Democrat group.

The British National Party and Labour also have candidates in the field.

In the Witterings division, sitting member Martin Daws-Chew, who has represented it as a Conservative since 1993, is standing as an Independent.

The Conservative candidate is Pieter Montyn, a member of Chichester District Council, where he has a seat on the executive board.

The line-up also includes Green, Labour, Liberal Democrat and British National Party candidates.

In Bognor Regis, the BNP is standing in the county elections for the first time. The party has four candidates contesting the Bognor East, Bersted, Bognor West and Aldwick and Nyetimber divisions.

Four of those divisions has five candidates, including the sitting councillors who will face a tough fight to hold on to their seats.

In contrast, the Fontwell ward sees Conservative Derek Whittington being challenged only by Lib Dem candidate Alan Fletcher.

The result of the election will be known on the afternoon of Friday, June 5, when the votes are to be counted.

Candidates for divisions in the Chichester district and the western area of Arun district are as follows (*denotes sitting councillor):

Bersted – Simon Holland (Lab), Simon McDougall* (Lib Dem), Ann Rapnik (UKIP), Ann Smee (Con), Mike Witchell (BNP).

Bognor Regis East – Albert Bodle (BNP), Phil Hitchins (Con), Philip Lee (UKIP), Francis Oppler* (Lib Dem).

Bognor Regis West and Aldwick –Robin Brown* (Con), Jan Cosgrove (Lab), David Little (BNP), Paul Wells (Lib Dem).

Bourne – Mark Dunn* (Con), Philip MacDougall (Lib Dem), Janet Miller (Lab).

Chichester East – Norman Dingemans (Con), Ray Fallick (BNP), June Leonard (Lab), Andrew Smith* (Lib Dem).

Chichester North – Margaret Dyer (Lab), Mike Hall* (Con), Michael Mason (UKIP), Richard Plowman (Lib Dem).

Chichester South – Alan Chaplin* (Lib Dem), Wendy Pengelly (Lab), Nigel Sitwell (UKIP), Margaret Whitehead (Con).

Chichester West – John Bennett (Lab), Andrew Emerson (BNP), Louise Goldsmith* (Con), Barbara Henry (Lib Dem), Richard Lanchester (Green), James McCulloch (UKIP).

Felpham – George Blampied* (Con), Alicia Denny (UKIP), Jason Passingham (Lib Dem), Michelle White (Lab).

Fernhurst – Matthew Bonfante Horrox (Lib Dem), Michael Brown (Con), Andrew Moncreiff (UKIP), John Smith (Lab).

Fontwell – Alan Fletcher (Lib Dem), Derek Whittington* (Con).

Middleton – David Biss (Lib Dem), Christina Freeman* (Con), Stan Nattrass (Lab), Joan Phillips (UKIP).

Midhurst – Judith Fowler (Lib Dem), Nola Hendon* (Con), Andrew Young (Lab).

Nyetimber – Gregory Burt (Lib Dem), Paul Cole (BNP), Mike Coleman* (Con), Douglas Denny (UKIP), Pauline Nash (Lab).

Petworth – Raymond Cooper (Lib Dem), Chris Duncton* (Con), Robert Trower (BNP), Brenda Wise (Lab).

Selsey – Ian Bell (Lab), Peter Jones* (Con), Bernard Smith (UKIP).

Witterings – Martin Daws-Chew* (Ind), Adrian Mills (Green), Pieter Montyn (Con), Joe O'Sullivan (Lab), Roger Tilbury (Lib Dem), Sylvia Trower (BNP).

A full list of nominations for the whole of West Sussex can be found by clicking here

Click here to go back to Chichester news

Click here to go back to Bognor Regis news

Click here to go back to Midhurst and Petworth news

To tell us where in the world you are reading this story click on the link below to add yourself to our readers' map.