Bognor batsmen are Ledden footed

Bognor slipped up in their reply to Rottingdean's 196
Bognor slipped up in their reply to Rottingdean's 196
Share this article

On a fine day at the Regis Oval, Bognor skipper Luke Seward won the toss and elected to bowl first in the Sussex division-three encounter with Rottingdean.

This proved to paceman Jim Lee’s liking as he nipped out three of the visitors’ batsmen – and with a run-out on top of those losses, Rottingdean were 61 for four.

A brief recovery was ended as the miserly Joe Ashmore took two swift wickets, including that of top scorer George Ledden for 51 that left Dean at 136 for six.

Lee returned to claim two more scalps to take a well-bowled five for 38 and with Ashmore taking three for 27 off of 18 overs, Rottingdean were bowled out for 196.

In reply ebullient opener Elliott Clarke and flame-haired flayer Ryan Maskell played serenely for an opening partnership or 103.

When Maskell was out for 68 Clarke carried on, making a fine 51, and with the score on 138 for two, Bognor were well set.

However, disaster struck as Rottingdean bowler George Ledden ran through the hosts to claim seven for 80 and Bognor were bowled out for 173, Rottingdean winning by 23 runs.

Wisborough Green II v Bognor II

The hosts chose to bat and Josh Broad was quickly into his stride, bowling Ken Vickery for four, but Mr Dependable Rich Cox was once again into his stride bagging three wickets and taking out Green’s middle order.

Sleek spinner Jamie Woolnough bagged two for 35 to keep the pressure on Wisborough and with Cox clearing up to take a finely-bowled six for 65, Wisborough Green were bowled out for 174. Skipper Tim McMath top-scored with 35.

In reply, Bognor were progressing nicely at 41 for one but in the blink of an eye this became 42 for five.

Rich Cox fired a few salvos for a bright and breezy 32 but wickets still fell regularly, Green spinner John Pleasants taking five for 24.

Jamie Woolnough held off the advance with a combative 32 not out but Bognor were bowled out for 144, Wisborough winning by 30 runs.