Deadline approaching for Pompey player of the season vote

There have been 11 different players so far earning votes to be crowned The News/Sports Mail player of the season.

Tuesday, 3rd May 2016, 8:30 am
Updated Thursday, 7th June 2018, 6:42 pm
Pompey skipper Michael Doyle Picture: Joe Pepler

And there’s still time to register your preference before tomorrow’s midnight deadline.

Since 1979, supporters have decided the outcome of the prestigious trophy, with Peter Mellor the first recipient.

This season has produced a number of outstanding candidates during the club’s march to the play-offs.

Not since the title-winning side of 2002-03 have Pompey collected as many victories and earned as many points from a league season.

Jed Wallace was last year’s overwhelming winner, with second-placed James Dunne a considerable distance behind.

This term there are a number of candidates – and we require your vote to separate them.

Ben Davies has already received the nod from the London Pompey Supporters’ Club for his superb efforts.

Since arriving as a free agent from Sheffield United in the summer, the veteran has established himself as a popular Fratton Park figure.

Yet this is no one-horse race.

Skipper Michael Doyle has been a ferocious presence in the heart of midfield, playing through a broken shin bone for a large part of the campaign.

His consistent displays, willingness to give all for the cause and those crucial goals at Accrington and Dagenham & Redbridge have seen him stand out.

Kyle Bennett has been Pompey’s chief creator of goals and was voted by League Two managers in their top 15 players of the season.

Christian Burgess arrived for a fee from Peterborough and quickly established himself as a crucial presence at the heart of the defence.

Enda Stevens is Pompey’s only League Two ever-present and an attacking outlet from left-back, weighing in with a number of assists.

Gareth Evans is a workaholic midfielder with nine goals, while Gary Roberts has emerged from injury problems to be a sublime attacking force.

Adam Webster has enjoyed his finest Fratton Park season, revelling in the centre of defence, while teenager Conor Chaplin has scored 10 times.

Marc McNulty is presently top-scorer, Matt Clarke has shone, while Danny Hollands has been a crucial cog.

You can vote online at or by emailing [email protected]

The voting deadline is midnight tomorrow.