Taylor Nabs challenge victory as sailors boost hospice

Action from the Nab Challenge in aid of St Wilfrid's Hospice
Action from the Nab Challenge in aid of St Wilfrid's Hospice

The St Wilfrid’s Hospice Nab Challenge drew a record entry of 45 yachts and raised more than £17,000 for the charity, nearly double last year’s figure.

Perfect sailing conditions, a big turnout of spectators and some fine sailing, combined to make the tenth Nab Challenge a spectacular success.

Overall winner was the yacht Marbella from the Inn-Shore Cruising Club, skippered by Mark Taylor, with 16,240 points and a sum of £2,030 pledged to the hospice.

The Star of Killarney Trophy for the yacht that most reflected the spirit of the event went to the yacht Unruly, skippered by Charles Bull.

Unruly’s crew included, at two and four years old, the youngest sailors in the event, which the judges felt best reflected the family theme.

The winner in the Sunbeam Class was Gayle Palmer’s yacht, Little Lady.

There were numerous class winners and all will be presented with their trophies at a special presentation evening to be held at the Inn-Shore Cruising Club, East Wittering on October 30.

Organised by the Inn-Shore Cruising Club and sponsored by Chichester based boiler distributor ATAG Heating UK, the event is growing yearly and before this year had raised £110,000-plus for the hospice. The 12 nautical-mile course starts just outside Chichester harbour and goes around the Nab Tower and back. It attracts entrants from sailing clubs throughout Sussex and beyond.

“It was a spectacular event and a stunning amount raised for St Wilfrid’s,” said Inn-Shore Cruising Club spokesman Patrick Doyle. “It’s a tribute to everyone involved, particularly the local community.” ATAG Heating MD Phil Bell commented: “A lot of hard work has gone into this year’s event and the results speak volumes for all the effort and support we have had.”

Next year’s event will be held on September 8, 2012.


There was beautiful sunshine at Bosham Sailing Club for the Finn open and a light and variable breeze.

The start was delayed which allowed the wind to stabilise and James Wyburd to drag his boat out through the mud of Mengham Rythe.

David McFarlane, the race officer, was very quick to set off the first race into a very weak southerly breeze. Speed was the key to getting five races completed in very tricky conditions.

The lack of wind and a strong tide made starts and finishes a real challenge, but everybody managed to get away.

Racing was tight with different boats winning each of the five races. The eventual winner Mark Harper (Chichester YC), who consistently got away from the line but secured the overall victory only on a countback. George Cooper (Mengeham Rythe SC) and Ben Davies (Bosham SC) were second and third.


As the main season at Dell Quay SC draws to a close, the series winners become clear.

One of the most popular events was the Longmore series, which attracted an entry of 34 boats over the course of the season but wasn’t resolved until the final race on Saturday.

Richard Wilde and David Wakefield (Wayfarer) got a good start and held their lead over other contenders Anne and Jim Norfolk (Laser 2000) and Chris Ede (Solo).

In the long race to Westlands, sailed in a variable and gusty north-westerly wind, the faster two-man boats opened up a sizeable lead over the single-handers and Wilde and Wakefield crossed the line with the Norfolks trailing behind.

The final race went to Wilde and Wakefield, but the Norfolks’ second place was just enough to put them ahead in the series and Ede, who finished behind third-placed Chris Wood (Streaker), had to settle for third overall.

Sunday saw the conclusion of the three Late Trophy series. The Laser 2000 trophy had already been secured by Mike Fitzgerald and Tom Dormer and so it was left to the Norfolks and Tom and Fiona Dobbs to sail for second place, with the Norfolks’ win in the first race securing it.

The Solo fleet prize was between Malcolm Buchanan, the leader after ten races, or Chris Ede.

Buchanan did not sail and Ede secured a second, behind Bill Dawber, in the first race, with Ken Baker third and won the second race from Baker to clinch the series.

The Handicap Late Trophy series had already been won by Stu Denyer (Laser). On Sunday, Beckie Manning won both handicap races in her Topper to secure second.

In the first race Peter King and Serge Braconi (RS 400) finished second, with Andrew Buchanan (Laser) third, while in the second race, Rob Corfield and Noel Boswijk were second ahead of King and Braconi.

This weekend sees the culmination of the Late Helm series and the joint Birdham Barrel series organised by Chichester YC.