Rocks Review: There's an award for (almost) everyone

IN a season when a real team effort got the Rocks promoted, it was fitting the silverware should be generously shared around at their end-of-season awards.

Saturday, 19th May 2012, 6:54 pm
Updated Thursday, 7th June 2018, 7:38 pm

Dependable keeper Craig Stoner won the big prize - the supporters’ player of the season, while Kane Wills got the players’ player award.

Ben Johnson and Kane Wills shared the award presented by supporters’ club chairman Sarah Warwick while Darryl Wollers took the Terry Seabourne Trophy, given each year to the most improved player.

Wills also shared another award – alongside Ashley Robinson for the stunning goal against Hythe that Robinson set up for Wills.

Terry Dodd was club website player of the month from April and May and also received the top scorer prize on behalf of Jason Prior, who was unable to be at the presentation night at the Seasons clubhouse.

The Sportsman’s Trophy was won by Ian and Anna Guppy for their hard work over the season in the club shop.

There was a party atmosphere at the awards night as management, players and fans looked forward to another crack at the Ryman premier division.

Joint managers Jamie Howell and Darin Killpartrick thanked everyone who’d played their part in a memorable campaign.