Women’s teams see Selsey Cricket Club reach new boundaries

editorial image

For the first time, Selsey Cricket Club fielded two ladies’ teams last season.

And at their recent presentation evening, Charlotte Vincent and Charlotte Godwyn were jointly awarded the John Reeve Trophy for their contribution to playing and their help running the two teams.

The trophy was handed over by president John Reeve.

Charlie Irvine was awarded the Most Improved Player Cup by Reeve and chairman Andy Horner, who also presented numerous other pieces of silverware.

Other trophy winners: Player of the year - J Challoner; Players’ player & 1st team captain’s cup - T Amis; 2nd team captain’s cup - B Matlock; Murphy Memorial Trophy - T Hoare; Stroud Cup - V Stocks and B Pleasance; Frost Cup - I Stocks; Batting Cup - J Challoner; Sir Patrick Moore Bowling Cup - B Matlock; 1st team bowling shield & 1st team batting shield - A Davis; 2nd team bowling shield - J Challoner; 2nd team batting shield - G Mack; Catching cup - G Mack; Golden boots - J Amis, S Souter & M Weller; Overseas player - Christy; Highest score - G Mack (135 v Hangleton); Duck cup - M Weller; Man of the match cup & Fielding cup - G Mack; Most improved young player - M Weller; Sportsman cup - J Stocks; Veterans’ cup - R Hoare; Ladies: Batting cup - G Halford; Bowling cup - G Williams; Most improved player - C Irvine; John Reeve Trophy - C Vincent & C Godwyn.

Meanwhile, Selsey have been awarded Sussex Cricket Board and England Cricket Board Focus Club status.

Tim Shutt, head of cricket development at the SCB, said in a letter to Selsey: “The club, and volunteers within, have done an excellent job in recent years to develop in so many areas.

“All Focus Clubs have a responsibility to cricket development on many fronts ... and are subject to an annual

review against these criteria. In return, there are a clear set of benefits.

“Congratulations on achieving Focus Club status.”